A Thanksgiving Epiphany

Yesterday, a few moments into dinner I took a deep breath, centered myself and told Jennifer that I was so grateful for a quiet holiday. In thirty-five years I have experienced my fair share of stressful 10+ family and friend holidays. I’ve cooked 12 birds, eaten at Denny’s for the holiday, spent it on the beach, been hunting and celebrated it in 8 different states. Yesterday was hands down the easiest, most-best dinner/holiday I’ve ever had. Just the two of us: I cooked the bird & the pies and she rocked all the fixings. So yummy.

In the days leading up to the holiday there were lots of folks who reacted like it was terrible that it was just going to be the two of us and then just as many who seemed a tad envious, it was interesting and I am curious of how you feel about it. Has your enjoyment of the holidays changed since you’ve become an adult? I am sure that not raising children or really having children growing up around me changes my perspective immensely.

Anyways, it was a lovely, lovely holiday because of and not in spite of a blustery snow storm.

IMG_5894.JPG

One thought on “A Thanksgiving Epiphany

  1. Casey says:

    I have grown to love having a quiet Thanksgiving Holiday (and all holidays in general). After one particularly stressful year, when I cooked a full dinner for what ended up being 3 people, I decided that reservations are better than clean up, long walks with the dogs are more important than a drunken stupor, and spending the day with friends and furbabies is just as satisfying as seeing my family. Your holiday looks like it was lovely and relaxing, and I think that is more important than satisfying someone else’s notion of what a holiday *should* be.

Leave a Reply

