the best ever strawberry-rhubarb pie.

I made my first pie (of the season) last week and it was, hands down, amazing.  I found the recipe off of Pinterest, it was submitted by Miss. Homemade. Anyone who is willing to put the words best or greatest in front of their recipe must feel very confident and so I had to check it out.  Not only was it very tasty but quite simple, too!  I was entertaining a friend while I baked (love laughter in the kitchen, always seems to make everything taste better) and she helped me with the design of the top crust, so now not only was the pie delicious but aesthetically pleasing as well.  I’ll stop chatting and get on with the recipe.
3 cups rhubarb, chopped
3 cups strawberries, sliced
1-1/3 cups white sugar
1/4 cup cornstarch
1 TBS lemon juice
**recipe called for 1/4 table of cinnamon however my lover isn’t really a fan so I opted out.
Now I don’t know about you but I am not a fan of store bought pie crusts.  I rather prefer to make my own and my go-to recipe happens to come from the very old Better Homes & Gardens New Cook Book. Now, after the pie crust is made you are going to combine the rhubarb, strawberries, white sugar, cornstarch, lemon juice in a large bowl.  Once combined pour the mixture into your pie plate.  A note about topping the pie, since this is a juicy and rich pie you’ll do better to cover the top with crust rather than use the lattice method.  I only mention this because when I went to bake my second pie I tried the lattice approach and it just wasn’t as good – the extra crust really does balance the flavours.  Now you are going to bake the pie for 20-25 minutes; or until the top crust is golden, then reduce heat to 350 degrees and bake another 35 to 40 minutes or until the pie juices are bubbling and the crust is golden brown.  Let cool.
After I was done baking and when the pie had cooled a bit I traveled into Hadley to deliver the goods to my lover’s work.  Major gold star points both with the lady and her employees!  Lover brought me the very last piece home and I enjoyed it for breakfast the next morning, baker’s delight, for sure.

Image

2 thoughts on “the best ever strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Leave a Reply

