Toll the bells.

“But I’d long ago learned not to be picky in farewells. They weren’t guaranteed or promised.
You were lucky, more than blessed, if you got a good-bye at all.”
— Sarah Dessen

How ironic is it that the hardest decision we’ve had to make for our beloved Petunia is the kindest and most caring one can make for their suffering pet?    We said goodbye to her early on Monday morning.  She was struggling and in pain; the cancer having robbed all the spirit left in her fragile little body.

I cannot give a proper eulogy for Petunia, I did not know her for her entire life.   I was however, Petunia’s other mum for five years and can attest to the fact that she was indeed a very cool and special cat.   I have this partial affinity for tabby cats and when I met Jenn’s little brood I was immediately smitten with Petunia.  Pretty brown tabby with the brightest, greenest eyes I’ve ever seen.   She was quiet, patient and the only cat in our home that could scare the beejeezus out of our large bully cat, Hunter.   She was a New England Lady through and through.  She enjoyed hugs and hanging out on shoulders, a good game of tag and tip-toeing through the house so stealthily that the only thing that let you know she was around was the big bell around her neck.   When she got ill she lost so much weight we had to take her collar and bell off of her.   She was frightened of black leather gloves, and when I drove Jenn’s cats down to Virginia from Massachusetts she was the loudest protestor…for all eight hours of the drive!  She was truly so very special and I know that we did the very best by her and I will forever be grateful and lucky to have known such a soul as Petunia’s.    My friend Tom said the other day that often folks will say that our pets are the lucky ones, but truly, it is us who are blessed to have them in our life.  Our house and hearts are so very sad these days and will be for some time, I’m sure.

3 thoughts on “Toll the bells.

  1. Sonya says:

    Animals teach us how to be better humans… i have learned some of the most important lessons in life from my pets, one most specifically. My beloved dog who was my constant companion for a decade taught me patience, commitment, true loyalty and the best lesson being how to love unconditionally and to be loved that way in return. The hardest lesson learned from him was simply how to let go… he’s been gone for almost 2 years and i still cry over him, think of him, yearn for him, wonder what i could have done differently for him but in the end i take comfort knowing i did the best i could. Our pets don’t stay with us in this life for very long and NEVER long enough but the lessons they teach us and the imprint they leave on our hearts lasts a lifetime. I’m so sorry about Ms. Petunia and she knows she’ll be missed forever.

Leave a Reply

